What is a food flavoring?

Do you know what the source of the aroma you perceive when you eat food is?
This article explains the chemical nature of aromatic compounds and presents methods to extract them for use in cooking.

1. Introduction

A food contains many volatile compounds, which can be perceived in two ways: by direct nasal route (which corresponds to the odor) or by retronasal route, when the food is placed in the mouth, which gives rise to the aroma (see the article The perception of aromas). The set of volatile compounds responsible for the perception of an aroma is also designated under the same term of aroma.

In this document, we will see what is an aroma, and the most used extraction methods.

2. What is an aroma made of?

Flavor molecules are low molecular weight organic compounds whose vapor pressure at atmospheric pressure and room temperature is sufficient to cause volatilization in the gaseous atmosphere and produce an olfactory stimulus upon contact with the olfactory mucosa.

These volatile compounds belong to the different classes of organic chemistry: hydrocarbons, aldehydes, acids, alcohols, esters, etc. They do not contribute any energy to the food in which they are found, but they play a fundamental role in the recognition of food and the pleasure we derive from tasting culinary preparations.

They are present in food in very small quantities, or even traces, except in the case of spices and herbs where their concentration can sometimes be very high (see the table below and also the article Spices and herbs). For example, cloves contain 15 to 20%.

Type of foodQuantity of flavouring
Meat, fruit and vegetables50 ppm
Aromatic herbs0,1 à 1 %
Spices1 à 20 %
Quantity of flavouring according to the type of food

Their number in a food product is variable, but generally several hundred. In coffee, for example, over 800 flavour compounds have been identified to date. Not all these compounds play the same role. Some are more essential to the characteristic note of the product: they are called key compounds of the aroma. Such is the case of the mushroom note communicated by oct-1-en-3-ol (see figure 2).

Figure 1 - Chemical formula of oct-1-en-3-ol
This key compound imparts a "mushroom" note in an aroma

3. Extraction of aroma compounds

It is possible to concentrate or extract the aroma compounds using various techniques: dehydration, distillation, steam distillation, etc. Depending on the technique used, various products are obtained: essential oil, oleoresin (retinoid or concrete), infusion, alcoholate, etc.

3.1 Concentration by dehydration

This technique consists in eliminating most of the water from the plant material. We thus obtain either a dry product which will be used as aromatic raw material (ex: dehydrated garlic), or an aqueous concentrate (ex: orange concentrate).

3.2. The expression

This technique consists in recovering the volatile compounds by mechanical means (abrasion, compression, incision, perforation). We thus obtain an essential oil. This technology is used industrially to obtain essential oils from citrus fruits. In general, we couple the recovery of essential oil with the extraction of juice.

3.3. Dry distillation

It consists in entraining the volatile compounds by the steam produced by heating the vegetable matter. The product obtained is an empyreumatic oil. This technique is used in particular for the manufacture of smoke aromas from wood (cade, birch), but its importance remains limited.

3.4. Steam training

This is the oldest and still the most widely used technique for extracting volatile compounds. It consists in percolating the raw material with steam. The essential oil is recovered from the condensates by decantation (see figure 3). The residual water may still contain a small proportion of certain volatile compounds and can be used under the term floral water.

Author(s): Hubert Richard
License: No specific license (default rights)

Figure 2 - Principle of steam drive

1 = Boiler, 2 = Extractor, 3 = Refrigerator, 4 = Separator or "Florentine vase", 5 = Colombage
The boiler (1) produces steam, which is sent to the extractor (2), in which is the plant product from which we want to extract the aroma compounds.
After condensation in a cooler (3), the water phase is separated from the lipid phase in a florentine vessel (4).
The lipid phase used in this method is less dense than the aqueous phase. The lipidic phase, containing the majority of the aroma compounds, is recovered and is called essential oil.
The aqueous phase is reused by being re-injected into the boiler, this is called the colombage (5). It is also possible to recover this residual water, containing a small proportion of aroma compounds, which is called floral water.

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked with *.

Qu’est-ce qu’un arôme alimentaire ?

Savez-vous quelle est la source de l’arôme que vous percevez lorsque l’aliment est en bouche ?
Cet article explique la nature chimique des composés aromatiques et présente les méthodes permettant de les extraire afin de les utiliser dans le domaine culinaire.

1.    Introduction

Un aliment contient de nombreux composés volatils, que l’on peut percevoir de deux manières : par voie nasale directe (ce qui correspond à l’odeur) ou par voie rétronasale, lorsque l’aliment est placé dans la bouche, ce qui donne naissance à l’arôme (voir l’article La perception des arômes). L’ensemble des composés volatils responsables de la perception d’un arôme est également désigné sous le même vocable d’arôme.

Dans ce document, nous allons voir ce qu’est un arôme, et les méthodes d’extraction les plus utilisées.

2.    De quoi est fait un arôme ?

Les molécules d’arôme sont des composés organiques de faible masse moléculaire dont la tension de vapeur à la pression atmosphérique et à température ambiante est suffisante pour provoquer la volatilisation dans l’atmosphère gazeuse et produire un stimulus olfactif au contact de la muqueuse olfactive.

Ces composés volatils appartiennent aux différentes classes de la chimie organique : hydrocarbures, aldéhydes, acides, alcools, esters, etc. Ils n’apportent aucune contribution énergétique aux aliments dans lesquels ils se trouvent mais jouent un rôle fondamental dans la reconnaissance des aliments et le plaisir que l’on tire de la dégustation des préparations culinaires.

Ils sont présents dans les aliments en très faibles quantités, voire à l’état de traces, sauf dans le cas des épices et des aromates où leur concentration peut être parfois très élevée (voir le tableau ci-dessous et également l’article Épices et herbes aromatiques). Par exemple le clou de girofle en compte 15 à 20 %.

Type d’alimentQuantité d’arôme
Viandes, fruits et légumes50 ppm
Herbes aromatiques0,1 à 1 %
Épices1 à 20 %
Quantité d’arôme en fonction du type d’aliment

Leur nombre, dans un produit alimentaire, est variable, mais généralement de plusieurs centaines. Dans le café par exemple, on a identifié à ce jour plus de 800 composés d’arôme. Tous ces composés ne jouent pas le même rôle. Certains sont plus indispensables à la note caractéristique du produit : on les appelle des composés clefs de l’arôme. Tel est le cas de la note champignon communiquée par l’oct-1-èn-3-ol (voir figure 2).

Figure 1 – Formule chimique développée de l’oct-1-èn-3-ol
Ce composé clef communique une note “champignon” dans un arôme

3.    L’extraction des composés d’arômes

Il est possible de concentrer ou d’extraire les composés d’arômes en utilisant diverses techniques : déshydratation, distillation, entraînement à la vapeur d’eau, etc. Selon la technique utilisée, on obtient divers produits : huile essentielle, oléorésine (rétinoïde ou concrète), infusion, alcoolat, etc.

3.1.    Concentration par déshydratation

Cette technique consiste à éliminer, du matériel végétal, la plus grande partie de l’eau. On obtient ainsi soit un produit sec qui sera utilisé comme matière première aromatique (ex : ail déshydraté), soit un concentré aqueux (ex : concentré d’orange).

3.2.    L’expression

Cette technique consiste à récupérer les composés volatils par des moyens mécaniques (abrasion, compression, incision, perforation). On obtient ainsi une huile essentielle. Cette technologie est utilisée industriellement pour l’obtention d’huiles essentielles d’agrumes. En général, on couple la récupération d’huile essentielle avec l’extraction du jus.

3.3.    La distillation sèche

Elle consiste à entraîner les composés volatils par la vapeur d’eau produite par chauffage de la matière végétale. Le produit obtenu est une huile empyreumatique. Cette technique est utilisée en particulier pour la fabrication des arômes de fumée à partir de bois (cade, bouleau), mais son importance reste limitée.

3.4.    L’entraînement à la vapeur d’eau

C’est la technique d’extraction des composés volatils la plus ancienne et qui reste la plus utilisée. Elle consiste à percoler la matière première par de la vapeur d’eau. L’huile essentielle est récupérée à partir des condensats par décantation (voir figure 3). L’eau résiduelle peut encore contenir une faible proportion de certains composés volatils et peut être utilisée sous le terme d’eau florale.

Auteur(s)/Autrice(s) : Hubert Richard
Licence : Pas de licence spécifique (droits par défaut)

Figure 2 – Principe de l’entraînement à la vapeur d’eau

1= Chaudière, 2 = Extracteur, 3 = Réfrigérant, 4 = Séparateur ou “vase florentin”, 5 = Colombage
La chaudière (1) produit de la vapeur d’eau, qui est envoyée dans l’extracteur (2), dans lequel se trouve le produit végétal dont on veut extraire les composés d’arôme.
Après condensation dans un réfrigérant (3), la phase aqueuse est séparée de la phase lipidique dans un vase florentin (4).
La phase lipidique mise en jeu dans cette méthode est moins dense que la phase aqueuse. On récupère la phase lipidique, contenant la majorité des composés d’arôme, qui est appelée huile essentielle.
La phase aqueuse est réutilisée en étant réinjectée dans la chaudière, c’est ce que l’on appelle le colombage (5). On peut également récupérer cette eau résiduelle, comportant une faible proportion de composés d’arôme, qui porte le nom d’eau florale.

Laisser un commentaire

Votre adresse e-mail ne sera pas publiée. Les champs obligatoires sont indiqués avec *